Indiana House Republicans have voted re-elect Brian Bosma to his sixth term as Speaker of the House.

Bosma overwhelmingly won re-election against Democrat challenger Poonam Gill.

The Speaker had come under fire in some circles for spending $40,000 in campaign funds in legal fees, which some critics say was used to intimidate a woman who said she had a sexual encounter with Bosma back in 1992.

The Speaker has denied the allegation and there have been calls for an ethics investigation.

Also at today’s caucus, State Rep. Greg Steuerwald (R-Avon) was elected Majority Caucus Chair, his first term in the position, and State Rep. Matt Lehman (R-Berne) was re-elected to serve as Majority Floor Leader.

Meanwhile, Indiana House Democrats voted to name State Rep. Phil Giaquinta (D-Ft. Wayne) as Minority Leader. He replaced Terry Goodin (D-Crothersville).