Former Marion County GOP chairman Kyle Walker was selected Sunday night to replace outgoing State Senator Jim Merritt.

Walker won 56 percent of the precinct committeemen vote.

Merritt announced earlier this year he was stepping down.

Walker ran against  Cecilia Coble,  Eric Deitchman, Tiffanie Hill Ditlevson, and Jim Morgan.  He won on the first ballot.

He will have the seat for two years until he is up for re-election.