With a few days to go before this weekend’s state Republican convention, Knox County Clerk Dave Shelton is touting the support of the majority of county clerks in Indiana in his race for Secretary of State.

In a news release put out this morning, Shelton stated that 55 Indiana County Clerks have endorsed his candidacy to be the next Secretary of State.

“Today County Clerks across the state have clearly spoken.  After a primary & over a year of working with the current Secretary of State and administration, they have overwhelmingly stated that there is a need for a change, Shelton said. ” I am proud to have the endorsements of those who best understand what is needed to effectively run the office.  The Clerks are our 1st line of defense when it comes to our elections.”

Shelton’s campaign also stated that after careful review of the candidates, the Clerks have said that his background, expertise and understanding of Indiana elections, 20 years as a private investigator with direct experience relating to the fraud division of the office; set him far above the other candidates.  His work has succeeded at the highest level; it is just what Indiana needs!  He brings the leadership, excellence and integrity that Hoosiers deserve.

Below is a list of some of those Clerks that have supported Shelton.

Fountain: Paula Coppenhaver
Vigo: Brad Newman
White: Laura Cosgray
Pulaski: JoLynn Behny
Jennings: Amy Thompson
Benton: Natalie Kidd
Greene: Stuart Dowden
Fayette: Lisa Witt
Starke: Bernadette Manuel
Laporte: Heather Stevens
Franklin: Neysa Raible
Floyd: Danita Burks
Jasper: Kara Fishburn
Cass: Destry Richey
Newton: Jessica Firkins
Jay: Jon Eads
Randolph: Mindy Peed
Daviess: Janice Williams
Gibson: Jim Morrow
DeKalb: Holly Albright
Dubois: Amy Kippenbrock
Montgomery: Karyn Douglas
Rush: Angela Buckley
Owen: Lesliann Sheese
Sullivan: Tonya Bedwell
Carroll: Sharon Milburn
Spencer: Darrell Stephen’s
Orange: Elizabeth Jones
Warren: Michelle Hetrick
Elkhart: Chris Anderson
Harrison: Sherry Brown
Blackford: Kim Pitts
Posey: Kay Kilgore
Fulton: Teri Furniwall
Clinton: Rhea Harris
Jackson: Melissa Hayes
Parke: Henry Harper
Wells: Beth Davis
Howard: Debbie Stewart
Dearborn: Gayle Pennington
Switzerland: Gayle Sullivan
Steuben: Tangi Manahan
Morgan: Stephanie Elliot
Crawford: Lisa Holzbog
Decatur: Adina Robert’s
Ohio: Jamie Stegemiller
Vermillion: Gracie York
Warrick: Patty Perry
Hancock: Lisa Lofgreen
Grant: Pam Harris
Noble: Tammy Bremmer
Kosciusko: Ann Torpy
Whitley: Cindy Doolittle
Shelton faces incumbent Holli Sullivan and former Mike Pence aide Diego Morales at Saturday’s convention in at the Marion County Fairgrounds in Indianapolis.