Indiana House Republicans say it was population, not politics, that was the driving force behind their new proposed maps.

The GOP House maps put eight Republican lawmakers in the same district, no Democrats and creates six new open Indiana House seats.

House Speaker Todd Huston says they were driven by population, not politics.

Twelve  House Republicans are in the same district.  The list is as follows…

  • Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero) is in the same  district with House Speaker Todd Huston (R-Fishers)
  • Rep. Curt Nisly (R-Milford) is  in the same  district with Rep. Craig Snow (R-Warsaw)
  • Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) is in the same district with Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle)
  • Rep. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) is the same district with Rep. Don Lehe (R-Brookston)
  • Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) is in the same district with Rep. John Young (R-Franklin)
  • Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) is in the same district with Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour)

Some lawmakers like Representatives Tim Brown and Doug Gutwein are retiring after this session.  No Democrats were drawn into the same District with each other.

In addition, Huston says there are six open seats.  House Districts 25, 32, 41, 57, 73 and 82.

Republicans have been criticized for making the redistricting process more transparent.

You can hear Speaker Huston, as well as State Representatives Greg Steuerwald and Tim Wesco in the Leon-Tailored Audio above.

It runs for about 21 minutes.