The Indianapolis City-County Council has approved new district maps.

Republicans are expected to pick up at least one City-County Council seat under new maps drawn by Democrats.

The new maps were unveiled last month.

Currently, Democrats hold a 19-5 majority on the Council,  That number was 20 until Councilor Ethan Evans left the caucus and became an independent. 

Council President Vop Osili says the maps were the result of a months-long process that began with a series of ten public forums designed to prioritize input from residents.

In addition to Republicans gaining a seat, four Democrats were drawn into the same district. Councilors Monroe Gray and Keith Potts were drawn into the sam as were David Ray and

Jason Larrison.  

And there are two Districts one on the north side and one on the south side with no incumbent.  In addition, there are now 10 majority-minority districts.

Democrats also took a pass on an independent commission drawing the maps and instead hired attorneys at Ice Miller to draw the maps for approximately $300,000,

The maps were approved  22-3.

In addition, an ordinance was introduced to raise the Council’s salary.

Under Proposal 181, the city’s 25 part-time councilors’ annual pay would increase from $11,400 to $31,075. The base pay is currently 12% of the mayor’s $95,000 salary.

The ordinance would also raise the Council’s per-meeting pay from $112 to $150 for full council meetings, and to $75 from $62 for committee meetings.   The proposal also eliminates the 40-committee meeting pay cap.

The raises would go into effect in 2024 when the next Council takes over.