The political action arm of the Indy Chamber is endorsing Democrat Joe Hogsett over Republican and small businessman Chuck Brewer.

In a statement, the group said…

“We believe these candidates have the vision to continue the great momentum our city has seen recently in cultivating a competitive business environment that is attractive to talent and encourages our home-grown entrepreneurs.  Our committee was encouraged by discussions with candidates on both sides of the political spectrum and believe our political, civic and business leaders have a shared nonpartisan vision for the future of Indianapolis.”


The group also endorsed Indy City-County Council President Maggie Lewis and Republican Leader Mike McQuillen, as well as the following councilors.

  • District 2 – Kip Tew (D)
  • District 3 – Pamela Hickman (D)
  • District 4 – Michael McQuillen (R)
  • District 6 – Janice McHenry (R)
  • District 10 – Maggie Lewis (D)
  • District 11 – Vop Osili (D)
  • District 12 – Blake Johnson (D)
  • District 16 – Jeff Miller (R)
  • District 19 – Ben Hunter (R)
  • District 21 – Frank Mascari (D)
  • District 23 – Scott Kreider (R)

Brewer released the following statement following the announcement.

“The committee’s decision has a lot more to do with politics than it does business acumen. I started two successful small businesses in Indianapolis and I worked my way up the ladder at a Fortune 500 company, while also earning an MBA from Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management. If I have the honor to serve our city as Mayor, I will proudly represent the business community and work closely with the Chamber on policies that attract good-paying jobs and talented people to Indianapolis.”